top of page

7 Summits

The Seven Summits are the highest mountains of each of the seven continents. Six of these are undisputed and include Everest, Denali, Aconcagua, Elbrus, Kilimanjaro, and Vinson. There is dispute as to whether Mt. Kosciuszko in Australia or Puncak Jaya (Carstensz Pyramid) in the larger geographical area known as Oceania should be considered one of the 7 summits. If I get to this point, I’ll likely go ahead and climb both of them, while I’m in the region.

This was first achieved on 30 April 1985 by Richard Bass. He was an American businessman, rancher and mountaineer. He was the owner of Snowbird Ski Resort in Utah. Mr. Bass passed away in Dallas, Texas in 2015 at the age of 85.

The most recent statistic published by has the number of Americans who have summited the 7 summits to be at 127.

But first, Everest! If fortunate enough to be successful there, then I can begin to give some serious thought to finishing out the 7 Summits quest.


42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page